User Access Interface

  • You manage connected users, assign them languages and menu templates, and log them from the Users module.
  • You can set user access for all users and modules from this module.
  • Each user must have a role. There are three roles:
    • Admin:
      • Allows access to the users’ module.
      • Can grant themselves access rights to all the modules.
    • Users:
      • Cannot access the users’ module.
      • Only has the access rights assigned to them by an Admin user.
    • PoS User:
      • Forces the user to first clock in and open a point-of-sale session before working in QuickEasy BOS.
  • For each user, you must create a separate contact, return to the users’ interface, and link the user to the contact.
  • User access can also be set for a module from its menu button.
  • You may only login to a database from one device at a time. However, you can login to the mobile and desktop app simultaneously.
  • Logins are validated every five minutes. These checks will discontinue sessions if the user has been disabled or has multiple logins.

Navigation: Main Menu > Setup > Users

User Access Menus

Buttons Explained 

Button

Description

View

Generates a list of users.

Output

Allows the list of users to be exported in .csv, .htm, or .xlsx format.

Edit

Allows the entry to be edited.

Save

Saves any changes.

Actions

Allows changes to multiple records that can be selected using Ctrl + Left Click or by clicking the checkboxes next to each record. The options are:

  • Update Users: Updates users from the database.

  • Check Connected Users: Determines which users are connected and checks the applicable checkboxes.

  • Sign Out Selected Users: Signs out the selected users. However, users are only signed out internally after five minutes. Although users are shown a message that they are signed out, they are prompted to restart BOS.

  • Email QuickEasy to Remove the Selected Users: Creates an email requesting the removal with the names of the selected users. The email is not automatically sent; users must still click Send (button). Warning: if no users are selected, the user at the top of the list is added. (Emails are sent to helpdesk@quickeasysoftware.com).

  • Email QuickEasy to Add New Users: Creates and opens an email for the new user details to be filled in. The email is not automatically sent; users must still click Send (button). (Emails are sent to helpdesk@quickeasysoftware.com).

  • View/Edit User Access by User: Provides an interface to view or edit a user’s access.

  • View/Edit User Access by Module: Provides an interface to view or edit access to a specific module.

Menu

  • View Login History: Displays a record of users and login information.

  • View Changelog: Displays a list of changes.


Filters Explained 

  • Active checkbox:
    • If checked, only Active Users are displayed.
    • If unchecked both Active and Inactive users are displayed.
    • If a user is linked to a transaction, that record can no longer be deleted. However, the user can be set to Inactive.
    • When selecting user access, inactive users are not displayed (their access is revoked by being set to inactive).

Fields Explained 

Fields with blue captions can be edited in QuickEasy BOS.

Field

Description

Field Chooser (*)

Used to add or remove columns.

User ID

The system-generated number for the User.

Status

The user’s Status (Active or Inactive).

Username

The user’s Name.

Contact

The selected Contact. / A dropdown list to select a Contact.

Email

The user’s Email Address as per the database.

Language

The user’s Language selection. / A dropdown list to select a Language.

Menu Template

The user’s assigned Menu Template. / A dropdown list to select a Menu Template.

Role

The role selected for the user:

  • User: Can access all the features allocated to them.

  • PoS User: A user that must clock into the Point of Sale system (e.g. a cashier).

  • Admin: An admin user can access this interface and grant themselves access to all the modules.

Connected

A checkbox. Should be checked if the user is connected and Actions (button) > Check Connected Users is clicked.

Updated

The date on which the record was last updated.

This feature was introduced in V1.0.73 and might display the date on which that version was installed.

Updated By

The user who last updated the record.

A submenu with the following options:

  • View/Edit User Settings: Opens a settings interface to set email and timekeeping defaults.

  • View/Edit User Access: Opens an interface where user access for all the modules can be managed.

  • View/Edit Reports Access: Opens an interface where user access to all the custom reports can be managed.

  • View/Edit Actions Access: Opens an interface to set user access to all the custom actions.

  • View/Edit Transaction Copy Rules: Opens an interface where user access to all Transaction Type copy rules can be managed.

  • View/Edit Service Copy Rules: Opens an interface where user access to all the Service Type copy rules can be managed.

  • Reset Password: Resets the user’s password if confirmed.

  • Delete User: Moves the user’s record to the recycle bin.


Learn More

  1. Understanding User Access and Settings: Explains how user access works and describes the available settings.
  2. User Access by Module: Explains the interface from which user access can be set for a specific module.
  3. User Access by User: Explains the interface from which a user’s access can be set for all the modules.
  4. User Access Setup Tutorials: These tutorials explain how to grant user access and how to allocate menu templates and languages.
  5. User Access Tutorials: These tutorials explain how to set and edit user access to the various modules.
  6. User Settings and Connections Tutorials: These tutorials explain how to set user settings and check for connected users.

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support